Species: Owls (Strigidae), Barn Owls (Tytonidae)

Owl Information ... Photos of Various Owl Species for Identification

Spotted OwlSpecies

There are 222 species of owls, which are subdivided into two families; typical owls (Strigidae) and barn owls (Tytonidae).

Typical Owls
  • Strix: earless owls, some 15 species
  • Mottled Owl, Ciccaba virgata : The Mottled Owl is a medium sized owl found from Mexico to Brazil and Argentina. The body has vertical bars on the chest and throat and white markings in the back. The eyes are dark and the head is round and they do not have ear tufts. It is thirteen to fifteen inches in length. They are territorial and found in dry forests and jungles up to 7500 feet above sea level.
  • Black-and-white Owl, Ciccaba nigrolineata
  • Black-banded Owl, Ciccaba huhula
  • Rufous-banded Owl, Ciccaba albitarsis
  • Crested Owl, Lophostrix cristata
  • Maned Owl, Jubula lettii
  • Spectacled Owl, Pulsatrix perspicillata
  • Tawny-browed Owl, Pulsatrix koeniswaldiana
  • Band-bellied Owl, Pulsatrix melanota
  • Northern Hawk Owl, Surnia ulula
  • Pygmy owls: Glaucidium about 30-35 species Northern White-faced Owl
  • Long-whiskered Owlet, Xenoglaux loweryi
  • Elf Owl, Micrathene whitneyi
  • Burrowing Owl, Athene/Speotyto cunicularia
  • Spotted Owlet, Athene brama
  • Little Owl, Athene noctua
  • Forest Owlet, Athene/Heteroglaux blewitti
  • Aegolius: saw-whet owls, 4 species
  • Ninox: Australasian hawk-owls, some 20 species
  • Papuan Hawk Owl, Uroglaux dimorpha
  • Jamaican Owl, Pseudoscops grammicus
  • Striped Owl, Pseudoscops/Asio clamator
  • Asio: eared owls, 6-7 species
  • Fearful Owl, Nesasio solomonensis
  • Mascarenotus: Mascarene owls, 3 species (extinct) : The Mascarene owls form a distinct genus (Mascarenotus) of owls. The three species are all extinct.
  • Laughing Owl, Sceloglaux albifacies (extinct)
Genus Phodilus: Bay Owls are barn owls of the genus Phodilus, subfamily Phodilinae
  • Oriental Bay-owl P. badius
    • Samar Bay-owl P. (badius) riverae (probably extinct)
  • Congo Bay-owl, P. prigoginei - sometimes placed in Tyto
Fossil genera
  • Necrobyas (Late Eocene/Early Oligocene - Early Miocene of France)
  • Prosybris (Borgloon Early Oligocene of Hoogbutsel, Belgium? - Early Miocene of France)
  • Nocturnavis
  • Palaeobyas
  • Palaeotyto
  • Selenornis


Barn Owls aka Delicate Owl, Monkey-Faced Owl, White Owl (Tytonidae - Tyto alba) - also see "Hissing Owl"

Boreal Owls

Collared Scops Owls

Eastern Screech Owls

Elf Owls

Flammulated Owls (Otus flammeolus)

Jungle Owlets

Lesser Sooty Owls

Northern Pygmy Owls

Northern Saw-Whet Owls

Pearl-spotted Owlets

Pygmy Owls

Scops Owls

Screech Owls

Western Screech Owls


Please Note: The articles or images on this page are the sole property of the authors or photographers. Please contact them directly with respect to any copyright or licensing questions. Thank you.