Eagle Species


Eagle Information Page

Steller's Sea Eagle, Haliaeetus pelagicus

Genus Geranoaetus

Black-chested Buzzard-eagle, Geranoaetus melanoleucus


Genus Harpyhaliaetus (Solitary Eagles)


Genus Morphnus

Crested Eagle, Morphnus guianensis


Genus Harpia

Harpy Eagle, Harpia harpyja


Genus Pithecophaga

Philippine Eagle, Pithecophaga jefferyi


Genus Harpyopsis

New Guinea Eagle, Harpyopsis novaeguineae


Genus Oroaetus

Black-and-chestnut Eagle, Oroaetus isidori


Genus Spizaetus (Hawk Eagles)

Martial Eagle

Genus Lophaetus

Long-crested Eagle, Lophaetus occipitalis - may be part of Ictinaetus


Philippine Serpent-Eagle - Spilornis holospilus Genus Stephanoaetus

Crowned Hawk-eagle, Stephanoaetus coronatus


Genus Polemaetus

Martial Eagle, Polemaetus bellicosus


Genus Hieraaetus (Hawk Eagles)


Genus Aquila


Genus Ictinaetus

Black Eagle, Ictinaetus malayensis


Genus Haliaeetus (Sea / Fish Eagles)


Genus Ichthyophaga (Fish Eagles or Fishing Eagles)


Subfamily Circaetinae: Snake-eagles

Genus Terathopius

Bateleur, Terathopius ecaudatus


Genus Circaetus (Snake Eagles)


Genus Spilornis (Serpent Eagles)


Genus Eutriorchis

Madagascar Serpent-eagle, Eutriorchis astur


Genus Harpagornis (extinct)

Haast's Eagle, Harpagornis moorei - possibly belongs in either Hieraaetus or Aquila


Please Note: The articles or images on this page are the sole property of the authors or photographers. Please contact them directly with respect to any copyright or licensing questions. Thank you.