Waterbirds pelican, spoonbill, heron, egret, ibis pelecaniformes

Brown PelicanThe order "pelecaniform" includes the below living bird families:

  • Pelecanidae: pelicans
  • Ardeidae: herons and related birds
  • Balaenicipitidae: Shoebill stork
  • Scopidae: Hammerkop
  • Threskiornithidae: Spoonbills and related birds

The below families have been transferred out of this order and are now included with Suliformes.

  • Fregatidae: Frigatebirds.
  • Sulidae: Gannets and Boobies
  • Phalacrocoracidae: Cormorants and Shags
  • Anhingidae: Darters
  • Phaethontidae: Tropicbirds

Members of this order occur all over the world, except in parts of the interior of North America, Africa, Asia and Australia, as well as in the high Arctic and in most of Antarctica.

These medium to large-sized water birds that range in length from about 40 cm (about 16 inches to 1.8 meters (about 6 feet). They have long legs and are slender, with characteristic webbing between all four toes. They are usually seen hunting their prey near bodies of waters.

Snowy White Egret with Chicks